Icy Windy City

My weekend trip to Chicago was a total delight! I got to see one of my best friends, Tiffany, before she moved out of Chicago AND there is a little surprise for my younger sisters, Fatima and Mariana, that came from the trip! Keep reading….

Millennium Park

Even though I forgot my heavy coat for this trip I had a light wool jacket and an oversized H&M scarf to wrap myself in. I also wore my favorite Levi’s Jeans and over the knee leather boots.

I was lucky to be there on a weekend that boasted the “best” weather they’ve had in months. On Saturday we had a high of 39′ with the very predictable wind of the city. We were tempted to stay in, but who are we kidding?! We had shopping and sightseeing to do. On foot! We made it to Millennium Park and took the mandatory photo with Anish Kapoor’s “Cloud Gate,” more commonly known as “The Bean.”

Cloud Gate by Anish Kapoor.

Cloud Gate by Anish Kapoor.

The couple behind me started kissing just as Tiff was about to take the photo. Did they photobomb my pic or did I creep on their kiss…?

The next day we met up with our friend John for brunch and the three of us walked to the Navy Pier. There’s a really cool booth I had to visit in order to get something special for my sisters…but before we get to that…we walked to Jane Addams Memorial park where we took these photos. Yes, the kid in us came out to play and why not hang from a tree!!

Hanging on a Tree

I have to say the Chicago people we met were very friendly. In fact, the tree photo above was taken by a super cool police officer that pulled over to help us figure out some fun things to do in that area.

Some of the best lake front views from this trip were just behind us at the Milton Lee Olive Park. There’s a tree lined walkway that leads to a viewing deck over the frozen lake. The city’s skyline looked amazing against the white iced over lake and the white cloudy sky. Yes, the closer we got to the water the colder the wind chill got, but the view was worth every numb digit!

Jumping in. No Swimming.

Now, for the surprise: You may have noticed from watching RightThisMinute that I wear my name necklace almost every day. But before you get excited and credit Sex and The City’s Carrie Bradshaw for the accessory’s sudden popularity, let me tell you that I grew up always owning some kind of name necklace or bracelet. You could say it was a cultural thing where I grew up because most girls (and some boys) had their names inscribed on jewelry. For me, wearing a name necklace came WAAAAY before the days of SATC’s “Carrie” necklace.

My sister Mariana has been wanting her own for a long time. I think Fatima had one, but I thought that it’d be really sweet if all three of us shared the same style. So, there’s a little gold jewelry booth inside Navy Pier where my current name necklace was made. It was a gift from someone very special to me and I love it because of how it was constructed. Belinda was the artist that made the necklaces from a single piece gold wire. She uses a tool to grab, bend, and shape the gold into letters that eventually spell out a name. Check out the video of her in action:

She was so funny and sassy! My kinda girl. I definitely recommend you stop by there and get one for yourself (or, if you’re a dude, for your girlfriend, sister, mom…)! Here they are:

Name Necklaces

Sisters, You’ll get them next time I see you 🙂

Ooooh, I don’t want to forget to mention that I got to see an awesome sculpture called “Hot Rod” made by Orly Genger. The sculpture was made from miles of red recycled lobster rope and will be on display for about a year as part of the Mayor’s initiative to increase public art in the city. I absolutely loved the stark contrast between the red rope and the white snow.

Hot Rod by Orly Genger

Hot Rod by Orly Genger

Here’s a gallery of moments captured in photos form my trip.

One response to “Icy Windy City

  • Keith Brown

    Thank you for sharing. I was there maybe ten years ago and visited many of the same places. Fun to see how they look now. Glad you stayed warm.

Leave a Reply

