Red Sedona

Ladies at Resort

(Wearing my trusted distressed Levi’s, silk Kenneth Cole tank, H&M scarf, and Michael Kors belt purse–my favorite accessory when traveling.)

My good friend Nadine Velazquez and I decided to take a trip to Sedona, AZ a couple of weeks ago after talking about it for almost 2 years. She took a break from her role as Deputy D.A. Emma Rios in the TNT show Major Crimesย and I was eager to spend time with my friend!ย I really can’t tell you how amazing this place is. We enjoyed relaxing and especially loved hiking around this magical place.

West Fork trail

One of our hike destinations was the West Fork Trail. The trail is about 3 miles long with lush green vegetation, the West Fork Creek, and magnificent red sandstone cliffs that repeatedly left us in awe. It will take you several hours to hike the entire distance since the round trip is about 6 miles long.

DSC_0168

This is an easy trail for anyone to hike. We maintained a very leisurely pace enjoying the beautiful views in sight… Well, that is when the consummate professional wasn’t running her script’s lines for that week’s episode of MC. I can’t help but appreciate the marriage between nature and technology during this trip.

DSC_0187

Walking in the creek made me feel like a little girl again. There were tiny fish swimming around my feet.

DSC_0227

My inner geologist — I do actually have a minor in geology– is about to geek out: The rich red color that defines Sedona comes from several layers of sandstone in the rocks including the “Schnebly Hill formation.” It’s a layer of sandstone (a sedimentary rock) that has been stained red or rusted by a mineral called hematite (iron oxide) giving it that beautiful rich red color. In the absence of hematite the sandstone would just be white and Sedona’s allure would be very different.

IMG_5832

At the end of the our first day we made it to the Airport vortex just in time to catch the sunset. It was nothing short of perfect! A few more pics.

PS. I’m still working on my photography skills… stay tuned for better pics in the coming posts ๐Ÿ™‚

11 responses to “Red Sedona

Leave a Reply

